Summer Tap Dance Camp in Toronto

25 Jun
Summer tap dance intensive Toronto

Summer tap dance intensive Toronto

Respected Tap Dancer Turns Toronto “Wannabees” Into Professional Hoofers- In Just 3 Days!

And Shares Jealously Guarded Secrets Of Successful Dance Choreographers

Toronto, ON – This August 21st – 23rd at Byfield Dance Experience (819 Yonge Street, Toronto), the hands down favourite tap dance instructor in the city (http://www.ShawnByfield.com) will be running an advanced tap dance program this summer.

“If dancers want to have a wildly successful career in tap dancing,” says Shawn Byfield, award winning choreographer and dance instructor, “I’ll be offering a private summer tap dance camp where I’ll turn a handful of *good* tap dancers into highly educated, awe-inspiring tap dance machines. And- I’ll teach them how to do it in just 3 days!”

With an international reputation as an encouraging instructor, Shawn has taught master classes across Canada, Israel and the UK. He was a 2007 Dora Award recipient and Gemini Award nominee, has performed alongside the late Gregory Hines in the film BOJANGLES, and appeared most recently in the blockbuster movie HAIRSPRAY.

“I don’t want everyone to know how to do what I do, or I’ll be out of work!” Laughs Shawn. “So I’ve had to limit registrations. I believe I have a lot to share, so I’m only accepting 16 dancers into the program.”

Visit www.BDXstudio.com for info on the Summer tap dance intensive and to register.

Byfield’s summer program will not only teach incredible tap dance technique, but tap and jazz history, music theory, choreography secrets, tap improvisation, and the importance of hard work and having FUN.

“The most exciting part” explains Shawn “Is I’ll even select a few dancers to be members of my tap dance company Funk Factory. I have a new show I’m working on to wow audiences, and they can be a part of that.”

# # #

3 DAY SUMMER TAP DANCE INTENSIVE 2013:

Wednesday August 21 – Friday August 23, 2013

Byfield Dance Experience – 819 Yonge Street, Toronto

Ages 16 and up welcome

Click Here To Get Tap Dance Intensive Info And To Register

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

10 Responses to “Summer Tap Dance Camp in Toronto”

  1. cathy smith July 2, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    Do you just show up for the audition or do you need to register first? Is there an age group you are looking at?

  2. tapdanceclass July 2, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    Hey Cathy,

    No registration needed, just show up. Looking for ages 16 and up, since it is a mature intensive that will be pretty gruelling!

    – Shawn B

  3. Melissa July 3, 2008 at 9:33 pm #

    Will you be accepting video auditions? I am from New Brunswick and really want to audition, but if I made it cash would be really tight to fly there 2 times (once for the audition and then for the camp). Thanks!

  4. tapdanceclass July 3, 2008 at 9:43 pm #

    Tap dance videos will be accepted Melissa no problem. I don’t want you flying in just to audition!

    Try to send your video so I receive it the week of the 13th with your contact info, and I’ll be in touch.

    – SB

  5. Melissa July 4, 2008 at 2:17 am #

    Would you like me to send it in e-mail or through the mail? I could try posting it on the web if that is easier. Also, if you make it how much does it cost for the week of the camp and does the intensive start Aug 1st or monday, august 4th? Thanks!

  6. tapdanceclass July 4, 2008 at 2:50 pm #

    You can even post it online on Veoh videos or Youtube, just record in a good quality and email me the link.

    Plus, the workshop will start either the Sunday August 3 OR Monday August 4th. I’ll have that sorted out by next weekend!

    Lastly, the program will only be $597! (Which is pretty sweet- for 30+ hours of intense learning.) Keep the questions coming, and spread the news!

    – SB

  7. Melissa July 4, 2008 at 8:00 pm #

    Thanks!!

  8. Melissa July 9, 2008 at 5:16 pm #

    How should I send you the link for this? Do you have an e-mail address or just want me to post it here?

  9. bridget April 6, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    I turn 16 at the end of the summer. Can I still do it?

  10. tapdanceclass April 6, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Thanks for your interest Bridget! This was actually for LAST year’s intensive, but will post info soon about this year.

    Stay tuned, and go here for more updates: http://ShawnByfield.com/subscribe.htm

Leave a Reply

