Will Season Two of SYTYCD Canada Beat Season One?

16 Feb
Why no tap dance in SYTYCD Canada?

Why no tap dance in SYTYCD Canada?

Yesterday, I was in the studio working on tap dance choreography, creating a competition solo for a very talented teen tap dancer, Mike. We used a Linkin Park tune, some hard core rock tap dancing. Gonna be sweet when we’re done.

After rehearsal, Mike, his mom and I talked about things that frustrated us about So You Think You Can Dance Canada. Like, that fact that there was no TAP dance anywhere in the show.

Yes, we know tap dance is hard to learn in such a limited time period. But come on… you mean to tell me CTV couldn’t find one tap dance video to show? Or they couldn’t have a tap dance number open just one elimination show?

I’m STILL wondering if the voting REALLY matters… because, well no offense to any dancers, but Izaak and Tamina were not technically as strong as some of the others. But they were on forever. Both Breanne and Romina were voted off way too early…

I don’t think cameras were rehearsed enough to truly showcase the choreography… and I don’t think all the judges had enough constructive feedback for the contestants.

But I DO think Leah looked fabulous! Girl, WERRK those heels and dresses. Call me… =)

By the way, you can read the  first press release for Season Two of So You Think You Can Dance Canada here.

Anyway. There were a lot of things I loved about SYTYCD Canada (yes Nico DOES rock), but I feel a few choices could have made our production much better.

What do you think? What you think was lacking in our first season? Do you think it was inspiring? Do you think the show could improve on stuff?

Let’s discuss. Or praise, or rant, or whatever…

– Shawn B

9 Responses to “Will Season Two of SYTYCD Canada Beat Season One?”

  1. Lesley February 17, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    I agree. I hated season 1. What was with Natalie, don’t get me wrong she rocked the ballroom, but her in the hip hop where she was forgetting the choreography. I know it happens but her and Miles messed up bad!!!! Nico only won because girls loved him…a girl had no chance at winning. I think also the judges sucked. Luther gave no critism at all, blake made up his bus, tre just said I loved it mama, and jean marc went on and on about nothing. No critism at all.

    Onto the whole tap thing. they tried to keep up with the american version with bring bollywood. i know they maybe didn’t want canada’s version to be exact, but the american had guest tappers on their show. for ie. jason samuels smith. and in the finale last year they had those tappers and nigel do a tap number.

    so to sum this up I will watch so you think you can dance canada because i’m a dancer, but i probably wont like it.

  2. Shim February 17, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

    I agree. I guess because it was the first season it wasnt as “prepared” as it should have been.

    I didn’t like some of the judges, because most of their comments sounded fake to me. And as it always happen, some GOOD people get cut very early and some not that great people stayed there way too long….including the people that got cut before the TOP 20.

    I think they looked more for “Good looking people” rather than focuse on technique, personality or skills. But I also understand its a tv show and they have to go that way in SOME cases…like Nico or Arrasay…they danced good and had the “looks”.

    At least they tried to show more new and different types of dancing than the US…but it’s true…the show should give opporunity to ALL KIND OF DANCING…

    And unfortunately voting for those reality shows doesn’t matter…cause I tried voting a couple of times and the people that I voted for were always at the bottom 2…hahahha…and I think I have a VERY GOOD criteria…hahaha…really!

    So, lets see…I think it should improve for this 2nd season!

  3. Shim February 17, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    sorry for my spelling mistakes! =S

  4. tapdanceclass February 17, 2009 at 11:54 pm #

    Thanks for the comments guys. I also want to point out that the show is also about RATINGS… which means the most attractive people, or the people in certain provinces have to stay on the show.

    For example, if they cut all the contestants from British Columbia too early (Arassay, Izaak), then all of BC tunes out. If we want another season of SYTYCDC, then CTV needs the entire country to watch.

    Politics? I think so… but remember, it’s about CANADA’s fav dancer, not Quebec’s favourite dancer. The show will always have to show talent from all parts of the country at least until the top 10. Talented, favourite or not… it’s a numbers game too.

    My two cents. =) Anyone else?

  5. myo February 18, 2009 at 3:26 am #

    I think that the season was amazing, although I agrree with making the show more diverse. Also since the entire show is couples dancing, they should have a winner for both the top male and top female dancer. It’s only fair, and I’m sure they can afford two cash prizes!!

  6. Jess February 18, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    I enjoyed the season this year but I agree with the tap dancing. I was going to try out last year a tap but I was afraid that there would be no point considering that there is never a tap dancer on the show. I think they should try to incorporate tap into the show considering they are incorporating other types of dance as well. It would interesting!!

  7. dario February 19, 2009 at 3:24 am #

    They showcased a tap dancer twice , one of my friend justin his a killer in tap dance he was showcase in the montreal audition as well as in the finals in ontario while dancing for his life on apolagize YEAAaah.

    anyway tap dance is two hard to be learn in a short period of time, imagine sytycd having breakdance as a style (bboy). Forget it … it will look freakin lame… its another style that takes a lot of practice to make it look good as much as ballet for exemple

  8. cool_ick May 24, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    Fred Bowers – 73 Year Old Breakdancer

    Fred Bowers – 73 Year Old Breakdancer – Britains Got Talent 2009 Ep 7
    youtube.com/watch?v=URaBIBgxRKc
    He was so cool)I’d love a Grandad like that:)

  9. Malcolm June 2, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    Speaking as both a long time viewer of sytycd and someone who plans on auditioning season 3, I like the judges just not how they judged. They were much stricter in Toronto week then the actual show.

    P.S. Ditch leah:/

Leave a Reply

